• Advisory Board

    You are here

Pursuing enhancement strategies

We have formed a Chemistry External Advisory Board (CEAB) that 

  • advises us on academic, program, and strategic issues;
  • helps us with promotion and recognition; and
  • provides philanthropic support and assistance in seeking public and private financial support.

Leading scientists in their fields

Members of the CEAB are leading scientists from a variety of industries, and many are University of Minnesota and Department of Chemistry alumni.

Florian Schattenmann, Ph.D.

CEAB Chair
Florian Schattenmann, Ph.D.
Dow Chemical Company





Additional Members of the CEAB

Timothy Abraham, CEAB member

Timothy Abraham, Ph.D.

Gregory Anderson, CEAB

Gregory Anderson, Ph.D.

Arthur Coury, CEAB

Arthur Coury, Ph.D.
Northeastern University
Genzyme (retired)

Rober DeMaster photo

Robert DeMaster, Ph.D.
3M (retired)
Suntava Corporation

Robert Duan, CEAB

Robert Duan, Ph.D.

Shawn Feist, Chemical External Advisory Board

Shawn D. Feist
Lead Research & Development Director
The Dow Chemical Company

Paul Guehler, CEAB

Paul Guehler, Ph.D. 
3M (retired)

Karl Haider, CEAB

Karl Haider, Ph.D.
Covestro, LLC

Daniel LcCloux, CEAB

Daniel LeCloux, Ph.D.
DuPont Microcircuit Materials

Yong Li, CEAB

Yong Li, Ph.D.
Eastman Chemical Company

Scott Pearson, CEAB

Scott Pearson, Ph.D.
The Coca-Cola Company

Martin Rigney, CEAB

Martin Rigney, Ph.D.

Steven Tinker, CEAB

Steven Tinker, Ph.D.
SBC Industries

Darrel Untereker, CEAB

Darrel Untereker, Ph.D.
Medtronic, Inc.

Steve Vanderboom, CEAB

Steve Vanderboom
Pace Analytical Services, Inc.

Janet Zuffa, CEAB

Janet Zuffa, Ph.D.
Masonite Corporation


    • Chemistry External Advisory Board
    • 139 Smith Hall, 207 Pleasant St SE, Minneapolis, MN 55455
    • David Blank, Department of Chemistry Head
    • blank@umn.edu
    • (612) 624-1880