Members of the Diversity & Inclusion Committee are Edgar Arriaga: faculty, CSE D&I Alliance Co-Leader, John Beumer: staff, Michael Bowser: faculty, Meghan Cahill: undergraduate student, Erin Carlson: faculty, D&I Committee Chair, Sina Chiniforoush: graduate student, Brianna Collins: graduate student, Miriam Krause: staff, Aaron Massari: faculty, Director of Graduate Studies, Angela Perkins: faculty, Natalie Pfann: undergraduate student, Chris Rich: postdoctoral associate, Becky Rodriguez: graduate student, WISE representative, SACNAS president, Deborah Rodriguez: undergraduate student, Ria Sanyal: postdoctoral associate, Amy Wesolowski: undergraduate student. 

Current areas of emphasis:

  1. Advise the department about important action items to continue to build an equitable and inclusive working and learning environment. 
  2. Increase transparency and communication between our committee and department members about our current initiatives, with particular focus on anti-racism.
  3. Organize events to engage all department members to build connections and a cohesive community. 
  4. Engage departmental community in challenging conversations and provide opportunities to grow and learn together. 

Feedback welcome

We welcome your feedback, ideas, and questions. Please get in touch with us.


    • Diversity & Inclusion Committee
    • 139 Smith Hall, 207 Pleasant St SE, Minneapolis, MN 55455
    • Professor Erin Carlson, Diversity Committee Chair
    • (612) 625-2580