You are here

  • Professor Philipp Kukura
    05/07/20 - 9:45 AM to 11:00 AM

    Moscowitz Memorial Lecture: Professor Philipp Kukura

    Albert J. Moscowitz Memorial Lecture

Professor Kukura

Professor Philipp Kukura earned his MChem degree from the University of Oxford and doctorate from the University of California, Berkeley. He was a post-doctoral researcher at ETH Zurich. 


Professor Kukura develops and applies novel spectroscopic and microscopic imaging techniques with the aim of visualizing and studying biomolecular structure and dynamics. One of his recent breakthroughs in scattering-based optical microscopy, where his group was first to demonstrate nanometre-precise tracking of small scattering labels with sub-ms temporal resolution, enables highly accurate measurements and mechanistic insight into the structural dynamics of biomolecules such as molecular motors and DNA, and their function and interactions. Kukura's group was able to develop ultra-sensitive label-free imaging and sensing in solution, down to the single molecule level, which has the potential to revolutionize the ability to study molecular interactions and self-assembly.

Albert J. Moscowitz Memorial Lectureship

The Albert J. Moscowitz Memorial Lectureship in Chemistry was established by friends and colleagues of Professor Albert J. Moscowitz (1929-1996) to honor his many contributions to molecular spectroscopy. He was known for his research on the interpretation of optical rotation and circular dichroism spectra in terms of the structures of chiral molecules. In collaboration with colleagues in the medical sciences, he developed important applications of his methods to biomedical systems. Throughout his career, Moscowitz held numerous visiting professorships at other universities, and served on the editorial boards of the leading journals in chemical physics. His work was honored by election as Foreign Member of the Danish Royal Academy of Sciences and Letters, and as a Fellow of the American Physical Society.

Past Albert J. Moscowitz lecturers include Bruce Berne, Columbia University (2000), R. Stephen Berry, University of Chicago (1998), Jean-Luc Bredas, University of Arizona (2002), Mike Duncan, University of Georgia (2010), Crim F. Fleming, University of Wisconsin (2006), C. Daniel Frisbie, University of Minnesota (1999), Mike Frisch, Gaussian (2008), Anthony Legon, University of Bristol (2013), Marsha Lester, University of Pennsylvania (2011), Frank Neese, Max-Planck Institute for Chemical Energy Conversion (2014), Stuart Rice, University of Chicago (2000), Peter Rossky, University of Chicago (2006), Giacinto Scoles, University of Princeton (2004), Benjamin Schwartz, University of California, Los Angeles (2007), Hirata So, University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign (2011), Walter Thiel, Max Plank Institute, Muelhiem (2002), Zhen-Gang Wang, CalTech (2014), Georg Kresse, University of Vienna (2016), Emily A. Carter, Princeton University (2017), Martin Moskovits, University of California, Santa Barbara (2018), and Veronique Van Speybroeck, Ghent University (2019).

  • Event Details

    Location: 331 Smith Hall
    Host: Professor Renee Frontiera
    • Professor Philipp Kukura
    • Philipp Kukura
    • Department of Chemistry
    • Oxford University