You are here

  • Undergraduate Meghan Cahill working in the lab.

    Meghan Cahill receives President's Student Leadership & Service Award

Meghan Cahill has received a President's Student Leadership and Service Award, recognizes the accomplishments and contributions of outstanding student leaders at the University of Minnesota. It is presented to students for their exceptional leadership and service to the University of Minnesota and the surrounding community.

Meghan is an active and involved student, particularly on diversity and inclusion issues. She is involved with the Department of Chemistry’s Diversity and Inclusion Committee as an undergraduate representative and sits on the leadership team for the College of Science and Engineering’s Diversity and Inclusion Alliance, where she co-chairs the education subcommittee.

She tries to do as much science, technology, energy and math (STEM) outreach as she can through programs like Chemists in the Library, Women in Science & Engineering, and as a volunteer at the Science Museum of Minnesota. Outside of science, she is part of the University Honors Program and a community adviser for the Honors Program Living Learning Community in Middlebrook Hall. Meghan is also on the advisory committee for the Department of Housing. She also works for the Minnesota Historical Society as a History Day Mentor, helping middle school and high school students research and prepare their projects for the MN History Day competition.

Meghan Cahill is from Hanover, MN, and a senior chemistry major with minors in biology and communications. Her research adviser is Professor Christy Haynes, who is associate director of the Center for Sustainable Nanotechnology through which Meghan conducts her research. Her awards and honors include J. Lewis Maynard Memorial Prize in Advanced Inorganic Chemistry, Wayland E. Noland Award for Academic Excellence in Chemistry, Fulbright-MITACS Globalink Award and Internship, American Chemical Society Undergraduate Award in Analytical Chemistry, Presidential Scholarship Award, Thomas DuBruil Memorial Award, Lloyd W. Goerke Scholarship, Heisig-Gleysteen Summer Research Fellowship, and Undergraduate Research Opportunities Award award.