You are here

  • Kaitlin "Katie" Landy

    Undergraduate Katie Landy receives I.M. Kolthoff Enrichment Award

Kaitlin "Katie" Landy has received an I.M. Kolthoff Enrichment Award from the American Chemical Society (ACS) Division of Analytical Chemistry. This award includes a travel grant to the March ACS National Meeting in New Orleans, where she will receive her award and present a research poster.

The I.M. Kolthoff Award is given annually to deserving undergraduates students who have done undergraduate research in the field of analytical chemistry. This award celebrates the life and accomplishments of the late Professor Izaak Maurits Kolthoff, viewed by many as the father of modern analytical chemistry and one of Department of Chemistry's most venerable professors. One of the department's chemistry buildings has been named after him.

Katie is a senior majoring in chemistry with minors in biochemistry and sustainability studies. She joined Professor Christy Haynes' laboratory in August 2016, where she works with mentor Graduate Student Joseph Buchman. Her project is within the Center for Sustainable Nanotechnology, and is focused on synthesizing nanoparticles and studying how bacteria interact with engineered nanoparticles. She is an award-winning chemistry student honored for her outstanding academic achievement, earning the Peteris Auzins Memorial Scholarship and the David A. and Merece H. Johnson Scholarship.

She is a co-author on a manuscript that was recently accepted: Using an Environmentally-relevant Panel of Gram-negative Bacteria to Assess the Toxicity of Polyallylamine Hydrochloride-wrapped Gold Nanoparticles, Buchman, J.T.; Rahnamoun, A.; Landy, K.M; Zhang, X.; Vartanian, A.M.; Jacob, L.M.; Murphy, C.J.; Hernandez, R.; Haynes, C.L. Environmental Science: Nano, accepted.