• You are here

Welcome to the Department of Chemistry's directory with contact information for current faculty, staff, graduate students, post-doctoral associates, and visiting researchers. Our directory information also includes emergency contact information, frequent contacts, and list of committees and committee members.

Administration

Professor David Blank, director of Undergraduate Studies, led the design of the Chemistry for Life Sciences sequence.
Professor David Blank

 

Department Head
Professor David Blank

139A Smith Hall
(612) 624-1880
(612) 624-0571
blank@umn.edu

Assistant to the Department Head
Mollie Dunlap

139B Smith Hall
612-625-0124
msdunlap@umn.edu

Associate Department Head
Professor Christy L. Haynes

243 Smith Hall
612-626-1096
chaynes@umn.edu
Assistant to the Associate Department Head
Nancy Thao
115 Smith Hall
612-624-0313
thao@umn.edu

Director of Operations
Chuck Tomlinson

139G Smith Hall
612-624-2321
chuck1@umn.edu

Administrative Office
Project/Program Specialist
Tanya Becker

139 Smith Hall
612-624-6000
612-624-2894 (DL)
beck0309@umn.edu

 

Graduate Studies

Philippe Buhlmann
Aaron Massari

Director of Graduate Studies (DGS) in Chemistry
Professor Philippe Buhlmann

325 Smith Hall
612-624-1431
buhlmann@umn.edu

Assistants to the DGS

Stephanie Stathopoulos
Prospective students

135 Smith Hall
612-624-8008
stephs@umn.edu

Nancy Thao
Current students

115 Smith Hall
612-624-0313
thao@umn.edu

Graduate Studies in Chemical Physics
Director of Graduate Studies in Chemical Physics
Professor Aaron Massari
245 Smith Hall
612-626-8416
massari@umn.edu
Stephanie Stathopoulos 135 Smith Hall
612-624-8008

Undergraduate Studies

Lee Penn

Director of Undergraduate Studies (DUGS)
Professor Lee Penn

225 Smith Hall
612-626-4680
rleepenn@umn.edu

Assistant to DUGS
Undergraduate Advising Office
Stephanie Stathopoulos

135 Smith Hall
612-624-8008
stephs@umn.edu

Student Support Services
Nancy Thao 115 Smith Hall
612-624-0313
thao@umn.edu

Nick Erickson
Student Services Specialist

115 Smith Hall
612-624-0026
eric1715@umn.edu