• You are here


We are committed to safety for all of our students, faculty, staff, and post-doctorates, both inside and outside of our laboratories. We have a number of resources to ensure that we have and continuously foster an ongoing culture of safety in our department.

Emergency Information

Chemical Safety Manual Policy Highlights and Chemistry Safety Manual

Faculty Lab-Specific Operating Procedures (LSOPs)

Safety Training

Chemistry Department Safety Committee

The Chemistry Department Safety Committee regularly meets for collaborative discussions to ensure a positive safety culture is an expected part of working in the department. The committee: 

  • sets department specific safety policies that are outlined in the Chemistry Safety Plan;
  • reviews Incidents and Learning Experience Reports before sharing with the department;
  • verifies safe practices through monthly personal safety equipment (PPE) checks and annual official inspections of the labs; 
    • Lab walk-throughs are unofficial educational safety visits each semester by the Joint Safety Team students.
  • coordinates the annual peer review of faculty lab-specific operating procedures; and
  • determines resources needed to ensure safety requirements are reasonable, relevant and set the bar for best practices.

The safety committee welcomes comments, questions and concerns and is frequently asked for opinions on safety related matters both internal and external. To send an issue to the committee for review, please send an email to the committee chair Chuck Tomlinson at chuck1@umn.edu

Safety Committee Members

Chuck Tomlinson
Director of Operations (chair)

Kate Greenberg
Chemical Hygience Officer
Department of Environmental Health & Safety
(612) 626-2707

Diana Mayweather
Senior Laboratory Services Coordinator

Professor Andreas Stein

Professor Ian Tonks

Department of Environmental Health and Safety

The Department of Environmental Health and Safety (DEHS) ensures the safety of the University of Minnesota community. It works with community members to prevent accidents, report unsafe conditions, and protect the environment. 

Some key resources are:

Joint Safety Team

The Joint Safety Team (JST) is a researcher-led organization focused on improving the culture of safety in chemical laboratories at the University of Minnesota. The JST consists of all graduate student or post-doctorate Laboratory Safety Officers (LSOs) within the departments of Chemistry and Chemical Engineering and Materials Science. For additional information send an email to jst@umn.edu


Laboratories and offices


  • lock when you leave
  • larger labs should be locked at all times


  • ensure they have a legitimate purpose
  • don't be lured away from lab or office
  • report suspicious behavior by calling 911

Building exteriors


  • ensure that a locked door closes and locks behind you
    • don't block a door open for any reason
  • call (612) 625-0011 when you encounter an unlocked door that should be locked.
  • Doors are normally locked:
    • 10 p.m. to 7 a.m. Monday through Thursday
    • 6 p.m. Friday to 7 a.m. Monday
  • call the chemistry administrative office at (612) 624-6000 to report malfunctioning doors and/or locks


  • don't leave basement or first-floor windows open



  • Safety Committee
    Diana Mayweather
    Senior Laboratory Services Coordinator

    Anne Sitek
    Research Safety Specialist
    Department of Environmental Health & Safety

    Chuck Tomlinson
    Director of Operations

    Professor Ian Tonks

    Professor Jane Wissinger

    • Safety Committee
    • Chemistry Administrative Offices, 139 Smith Hall, 612-624-6000
    • Chuck Tomlinson, Director of Operations
    • chuck1@umn.edu
    • (612) 624-2321